Gaza, Salads, and the Return of the Brain Trust

Hello and welcome to post numero 26 of the blog! Ah yes, you’ve been asking for it, and it’s finally arrived. I know you’ve been racing to your computers everyday hoping that maybe, just maybe, a new blog is on it’s way and finally at long last it’s arrived. (Okay, I’ll stop….sorry that got a little out of hand….) On with the blog!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-11931-1385496310-6

The first thing I want to touch on is the Israel vs. Hamas faceoff in Gaza, which isn’t really news to me anymore as it falls more into “yeah that sounds about right” category. I feel like at this point there’s just a customary scuffle that has to take place every year or so, just so we’re all reminded the Israelis and the Palestinians don’t get along. I actually laughed out loud the other day when I read an article where the U.N. condemned the U.S. and Israel for “war crimes” for not sharing their Iron Dome missile defense systems with Hamas. Just in case you were still on the fence about whether or not the U.N. was a joke. Imagine if the U.N. had been around during WWII? “Hey guys, I understand that you’re busy bombing the hell out of the Nazis, but would you mind just giving them some anti aircraft guns. Just to make it sporting?”

Non-alcoholic beer.

Oh and also, apparently this is news to everyone: but the Iranians are arming Hamas. I just…again, this falls into the “yeah sounds about right” and…excuse me, I just need a moment… THIS MADE THE NEWS!! HOW SLOW OF A GODDAMN NEWS DAY WAS IT? IT’S NOT LIKE THE IRANIANS HAVEN’T HATED ISRAEL’S GUTS FOR YEARS! OF COURSE THEY’RE FUCKING ARMING HAMAS! Alright I’m better now. My only question is this: Will Iran be sharing those weapons with the Israelis as well? I mean where’s the U.N. on that one?

wwe-raw-20110412033244054-000

Speaking of things from the “yeah of course” category, can we all safely assume that the Russians were somehow involved in the plane being shot down over Ukraine? I’m not saying they physically shot it down or even asked for/wanted it to happen, but I assume there was some sort of a wink and a nod between them and the Ukrainian rebels. I don’t really have any solid facts except, I mean it’s the Russians, they’re usually just hanging around when something goes bad.

I decided to order a salad from Subway yesterday, and yes this is going to be one of those “first world problem” rants but just go with it. Let me just say this about their chopped salads: Who decided they needed to go from regular salad to chopped salad? Was there a meeting or townhall style forum of some kind? Were Jared and his giant forehead taking turns moderating? Was there an outcry of some kind? Did enough people go into Subways across America and go “You can take your UNchopped salad and stick it, sir!” Here’s the problem with chopped salad, everything gets crushed together. It’s not chopped, it’s more like mushed, and then to top it off it looks like hell when it’s done. It’s just weird tomato juice mush with lettuce and whatever other ingredients there are. I don’t even get subway salads that often, in fact I probably get salads as often as I use the word “narc” in conversation, but somebody had to speak up.                                                                                  

 tumblr_m778w1oQaT1qhqgv3o8_250

Since this is most likely the last blog of the summer (maybe!) I thought that it would be fun to go over what’s getting a little more time on my iPod as of late, the songs of the summer if you will. Mind you, these aren’t necessarily new songs or even songs that have anything to do with summer, but simply songs I’ve been playing a little more than usual. So give them a listen and let me know what you think!

  • “Bent to Fly” by Slash featuring Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators
  • “Tonight” by Fozzy featuring Michael Starr 
  • “Have a Little Faith In Me” by John Hiatt
  • “First Day of My Life” by Bright Eyes
  • “Makes Us Stronger” by Throw the Fight
  • “SOS” by ABBA (Fozzy cover)
  • “Helluva Life” by Frankie Ballard
  • “Red Dirt Road” by Brooks and Dunn
  • “Gotta Get It Right” by Sixx A.M. (released August 5th, so very new)

I know for the last dumb tweet of the week I moved away from the brain trust known as the Kardashians, but fear not! They’re back…..with a vengeance!!

tumblr_mdanq35nxL1qjnhqgo1_500

ajv5a9

For the song of the week I decided to dig up an old classic, hopefully you’ll enjoy it:

Finally, here’s your cute GIF of the week! That’s all for now, I hope you enjoyed reading it! Remember to like this post on facebook and as always questions and comments are welcome!

tumblr_n3iujuj9Ov1rx5st2o1_400

About Steve

My thoughts from the week. Includes amusing commentary on life and various ramblings on any number of topics. Trust me, you'll enjoy it. View all posts by Steve

Leave a Reply

